Ap-seogi (Walking stance) - move one step forward or backward?

Discussion in 'General Taekwondo Discussions' started by Phally, Dec 13, 2019.

1. Phally

Phally New Member

Dear all, I am a bit co fused. I am a bleue belt taekwondo student and I would like to have your advice about the meaning of Ap-seogi. What is the correct way to execute this basic stance, one step forward or one step backward? Thank you in advance for your responses.

2. Gnarlie

Gnarlie Well-Known Member

Hi, welcome.

Ap means forward or front.

Seogi means stance.

It is possible to walk forward or backward using Ap seogi.

The "Ap" refers rather to where your center of gravity it in relation to your feet. It should be very slightly more over the front leg than the back leg.

The following definitions apply to Kukkiwon TKD and WT Poomsae Competition.

The front foot points forward, the back foot out at 15-30 degrees. The inner sides of your heels should both be on the same line.

There should be one of your own "foot lengths" between the toes of the back foot and the heel of the front foot.

It's pretty much your natural walking step. When moving and turning in Apseogi, rotation should always be on the ball of the foot sole, and not the heel.

That's everything about that stance. Did it answer your question? Is anything unclear? Let me know!

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

3. dvcochran

dvcochran New Member

Gnarlie, for clarification, is what you described above for a walking stance? I understand you referenced WT/Kukkiwon, but the narrowness in your description sounds like a walking stance instead of a full front stance. An example would be seen in the contrast between a walking stance and a front stance in a Taeguek Poomsae.
    I started in Moo Duk Kwan TKD and we added the WT/Kukkiwon curriculum in the early 80's. A traditional Ap Seogi would be as wide as your shoulders and 1 1/2 to 2 shoulder deep.

4. Gnarlie