GYM & TAE KWON DO

Discussion in 'Health & Fitness' started by Neel-TKD, Dec 1, 2014.

1. Neel-TKD

Neel-TKD New Member

Hey guys, firstly I'd like to say what a respectable community this is. I'm so happy to be part of it.

My concern begins with muscle tightness.

I've been going to gym for the past two years, and went through a fat loss process, and a muscle building stage. Gym has now begin a life style, rather than a task. Although, my instructor has told me to quit the gym as it causes muscle tightness from lifting heavy weights constantly. I've been doing TKD for around 9 months, and my flexibility has increased, I can kick above my head, although can not hold it. I feel as if this may be holding me back to achieve great flexibility, although I really don't want to give up gym.

Does anyone have a plan or any advice to mix the two? (Gym and TKD) So a plan which allows me to build muscle but helps with TKD? Rare, but worth a try.

I have been told by my instructor respectively, that I have progressed well since starting and I am up to a blue belt standard. Even though I'm a yellow belt.
    Hope this helps.

Thank you!

2. Mario Ray Mahardhika

Mario Ray Mahardhika Active Member

I won't take muscle building stage, only fat loss. Tight muscle means heavier muscle. You'll get a slow down and difficulty in doing aerial moves, though perhaps still possible.

3. Gnarlie

Gnarlie Well-Known Member

Hi Neel, welcome.

Try Thomas Kurz's book, 'Stretching Scientifically'. It will help you.

When weight training is approached in the right way, it helps with power, speed and flexibility. Every elite player has weight training as part of their daily schedule.

It just has to be done right - it's no myth that weight lifting without appropriate stretching can lead to shorter muscles. This can be avoided with the right stretching and through combination with plyometric training.

It doesn't mean quit the gym. It means train smart.

4. Chuco915

Chuco915 New Member