I feel bad for the blackbelts

Discussion in 'General Taekwondo Discussions' started by Scotty P, Feb 9, 2013.

1. Scotty P

Scotty P Member

All they ever get to do is help with class. There are no black belt specific classes. A few are there every single class, several make it once a week and a few every once in a while. Our classes have been pretty large so it ends up getting split up and the black belts each take a group. I think some enjoy it, but I know some that would love to workout and participate. I think to myself is this where I'm headed? Once I reach my goal of 1st Dan am I then relegated to being a teacher rather than a student?

Melody likes this.
  2. CristyK

CristyK New Member

Part of being a black belt is teaching. I know our Masters are looking forward to the 6 of us Red Blacks becoming black so we can help more with the classes they teach.

Mstr Gallagher likes this.
  3. Melody

Melody Member

I've noticed this too. I'm an adult beginner and have just received my orange belt. I've been struggling to define what "blackbelt" even means as it seems they are given to students who have not yet met the extraordinary demands and years of study I've come to associate with the term. As a lifelong musician, I've come to approach TKD the same way as I've done with musical training where the series of colored belts are merely a preparation of bodily training, technique, knowledge and skill that will set the foundation for your Martial Arts training. Blackbelt= beginning. In music this training will also take years but then that foundation will set you up for a professional life in musicianship which includes teaching others foundational skills, because when you teach you learn. I agree with you though, as a blackbelt the training must be intense or you will actually lose technique and will lose it quickly.

4. Tc Liming

Tc Liming New Member