Knee Pain

Discussion in 'Health & Fitness' started by Keigo, Dec 6, 2012.

1. Keigo

Keigo Member

Hi. I've been suffering from a rather unusual knee problem, and just wondering if anyone has experienced something similar. Have tried looking up various sources, also seen quite a few doctors and a physiotherapist, gone for x-rays and MRIs but nothing came up, so they seem stumped and not quite sure what's wrong either. The doctor did diagnose me with lax/hypermobile joints, and suspect the pain may have something to do with that...

Just a lil background: I started TKD when i was 13, trained for about 3-4 years, but then stopped for about 10 years (gasp!) due to study/work etc, and now I'm trying to get back into TKD again. I've never had any problems with my knee before, but about 2-3 months after I started training again, I started to have this strange pain on the outside and slightly towards the back of my right knee. I don't recall any particular incidents which I may have hurt it, so I'm suspecting it could've been a gradual onset which I hadnt really paid much attention to until it got serious.

I wouldnt say the pain is sharp, feels more like something is getting clipped or irritated inside. It seems the pain is triggered most of the time when I exert my right leg or put most of my weight on it. It did get quite bad at one point where I had to stop training for about 6 agonising months. Now I'm slowly getting back again while strengthening my knee, but I'm just not too convinced that it's on the road to recovery...