New to TKD Forums!

Discussion in 'The Dojang' started by GreywulfTKD, Jul 24, 2013.

1. GreywulfTKD

GreywulfTKD Member

Hi everybody, my name is Josh. I've been studying Taekwondo for over 12 years now and currently hold the rank of 3rd dan. I started in the ATA and studied that for five years, then went on to study other martial arts for a long time, yet kept practicing my Songahm Taekwondo forms and kicks alongside. Eventually I met a friend who knew WTF/Kukkiwon style Taekwondo. That's what I've practiced since. I plan to test for 4th dan soon.

(An aside: I'm looking to get Kukkiwon rank if anyone here is willing to help me with that. I can film myself doing all the forms, one steps, etc. PM me if you'd like to help me.)

2. Gnarlie

Gnarlie Well-Known Member

Welcome Josh. Wow, that's relatively quick getting to 3rd Dan, and even quicker getting to 4th. Are you in a hurry to get there?

I think you'll struggle to find someone to grade you via video. Master Woo (see Youtube) does offer such a service but I strongly suspect that there are criteria not mentioned on his homepage. Another avenue to investigate when coming into Kukki TKD from another organisation is to seek out a Kukkiwon Special Testing, where they allow people with the requisite number of years training to skip dan grades when they meet specific criteria. You would have to be willing to travel quite far and take a physical test in front of a Kukkiwon panel.

Your other option, and in my opinion the best option, is to find a high ranking Kukkiwon instructor, preferably with close ties to the Kukkiwon, and train with them far a minimum of one year. Demonstrate that you are willing to learn, and after that time talk to them about your options. This option takes longer, but is more likely to be successful in the long term, and you are more likely to fully learn what Kukki TKD is about than if you just pay for a test and the papers.

Just some thoughts.

3. GreywulfTKD

GreywulfTKD Member