WTF patterns

Discussion in 'Taekwondo Patterns' started by Matt, Dec 3, 2015.

1. Matt

Matt Member

I am not sure ow many of you are certified under Kukkiwon, but if you are what rank? I am certified for fourth, well I will be. My paperwork has been sent in and I'm just waiting for it to be processed. But, i you're apart of Kukkiwon do you like or dislike the changes to the WTF patterns that were just made recently? I know up through Pyongwan and I must say, that I can't trick my mind into doing Koryo differently because I've been doing it one way for about 7 years.

2. Mario Ray Mahardhika

Mario Ray Mahardhika Active Member

First, forever I guess. I dislike it the first time they introduce it, because it changes the way poomsae was designed for. But then I think I could explain both old and new one, the how and why, to my students so there would be no problem after all. The old way can always be regarded as poomsae with self defense involved, while the new one is poomsae with beauty attached :D

I know it's hard to change, it takes me 6 months or so even just to change my stance. Let alone the ability to have imaginary enemies when executing certain techniques because in the new poomsae, sometimes grabbing or striking movement becomes lower than it should be if executed for real. Take for example, the pyojeok jireugi in koryo. The standalone technique is to grab the enemy's hair (or whatever head part you can grab) then punch the face deeply (I remember one of my instructors said to punch so deep that your enemy will faint immediately). In the new poomsae, this becomes lower than the collar but you still hit your own palm, I really can't imagine the real execution. Even if you grab your enemy's clothes, hitting your own palm afterwards is illogical (what do you hold with that? You wanna hit the clothes?). Dankyo tok chigi fits better for that situation.

3. Gnarlie

Gnarlie Well-Known Member

That depends what 'changes' you mean Matt. Do you have any examples?